Trouble Cutting Watercolor Paper

Trouble Cutting Watercolor Paper

Postby ngrosjean » June 21st, 2019, 9:47 pm

Hello,

I have had my machine for a couple of years now, but I am still struggling with it. I am currently trying to cut watercolor paper and no matter what blade I use, or what settings, itā€™s just tearing and shredding the paper. I just recently cut this same paper and I dealt with some tearing, but it wasnā€™t this bad, and I donā€™t know whatā€™s going on. I am a cut paper artist and bought this machine to help with repetitive details, in this case I need to cut about 800 scales in watercolor paper for a dragon. This is a commission and Iā€™m approaching the deadline, I donā€™t know what Iā€™ll do if I canā€™t get these scales cut this week. Please help!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ngrosjean

Cutter: Silver Bullet Pro 13ā€

Re: Trouble Cutting Watercolor Paper

Postby Gigi » June 21st, 2019, 11:46 pm

I don't know the weight of the watercolor paper you are cutting or which blade you are using or much of anything! The more info you can give us the better.

Have you tried cutting from the back side? I have cut different kinds of water color paper often without issue but I dont know what kind you are using from the photo (hot or cold press) which brand or the weight. Have you tried switching to a different brand of water color paper? Again just throwing things out there because there is so much I don't know. Have you checked the file to be sure it's not node intensive? Have you performed a clean test cut. What force and speed are you using? Even tho this machine performs flawlessly at higher speeds, sometimes it helps to slow it down a little. Is the paper brayered down?