Confused with Cutting

Confused with Cutting

Postby MaryGladys » October 13th, 2016, 10:45 am

Hello, everyone! So, I am new to the Silver Bullet! I bought it to cut leather patterns and I can do it! But....I need some understanding and haven't found the answer.

So, I set up my file in SCAL to cut out a 12 x 10 rectangle on a 12 x 24 mat. I set it for Origin cut and place the laser on the leather where I think it should cut and I guess where I think it should cut and where it does cut don't agree. Lol.

So, I am wondering.....what is the path of the cut and is it possible to have a test run before a cut really happens? Let me see if I an illustrate in the attachment....

First of all, I make the origin on the place where the SB controller is overlaid on the Cutter Settings. I line it up with the laser in fact!

Invariably, the cut starts about an inch further from the right than where I set the origin and I have no idea why? So instead of cutting a 12 x 10, it cuts a 11 x 10!

Thank you so much! I am pleased with this device, but confused with cutting path!

I am assuming the laser point shows where the cut will start? And how do I know the path it will take? And is there any way to make a dry run before it cuts?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
MaryGladys

Cutter: SB-24

Re: Confused with Cutting

Postby Gigi » October 13th, 2016, 11:13 am

Patty -

I think you are confusing origin cutting and print and cut. You may need to go through the Learning Center info again to understand the steps - it's a lot of information to process when learning how to use a machine and new software. The fact that you have success in cutting your leather is great news.

When you are setting origin. you do NOT use the laser - you use the point of the blade. Your cuts are off because the laser is a distance the blade and is just for lining up the registration marks in print and cut.