Not getting a clean cut/blade holder install

Not getting a clean cut/blade holder install

Postby heathertheresa » September 22nd, 2015, 6:29 pm

I'm not getting clean cuts on my shapes. I'm cutting 2mm craft foam with the 60+ long blade in the click holder set at 4, velocity of 200 and force of 160. The shape was created from the library of SCAL 3.071 and the edges look choppy. I have the blade offset at 0.70 with overcut check marked. Pictures are of both the front, back of the shape, the edge (not pictured here) looks like its a bit twisted, like the cut is not straight from top to bottom?

I'm not that experienced with my machine, so I don't really ever know if I've got the blade inserted correctly. I try my best to get only 1 mm of the blade sticking out with the regular blade holder. And I do the best I can getting the height set when inserting the holder into the cartridge. I use the guide that came with the machine (and a magnifying glass) over the media I'm using, but it seems like I'm not getting it set right consistently. The mat i have is a very slightly warped here and there, so sometimes the blade drags across the media, scratching it, just before cutting starts. Can the mats be flattened?

Any pointers about getting clean cut and/or getting the blade set correctly is greatly appreciated!!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
heathertheresa

Cutter: 24" Silver Bullet

Re: Not getting a clean cut/blade holder install

Postby Gigi » September 22nd, 2015, 10:05 pm

Yes the mats can be flattened out first of all. If you do a search on the forum you can find different discussions on that. quickly you can roll it in the opposite direction, rubber band it and leave it overnight. You can set it in the sun to warm it and then flatten it - there are ways. It is always good to rotate the mat as you use it to prevent/minimize the warping.