Cutting paper adhered to chipboard

Cutting paper adhered to chipboard

Postby Cheryldec » July 12th, 2014, 9:07 am

I am fairly new to the wonders of the SB, and I have a question regarding chipboard and paper. My hope is to adhere paper to chipboard before cutting shapes and letters. Does anyone have a best practice for doing this? What adhesive do you use? Any recommended settings? Thanks in advance for your help!

Cheryl DeCristofaro
Asheville, NC
Owner of a 13" Silver Bullet
Cheryldec

Cutter: Silver bullet 13"

Re: Cutting paper adhered to chipboard

Postby Gigi » July 12th, 2014, 9:33 am

All chipboard is not created equal (!), so as far as settings go, it is dependent on the thickness and density of the chipboard along with the humidity. And then of course you add the paper and adhesive to the mix which add additional depth, so test cutting is going to be your best bet.

I usually apply after, but I would think running it through a xyron would give you great solid coverage (but would be expensive if you are doing a lot) or a good spray adhesive would be your best bet for good coverage that doesnt buckle. I love the Crafters Companion line of products.........
Silver Bullet Admin/Tech Support

Happily using an 24" Silver Bullet Platinum

Gigi
Gigi

Cutter: 18" Silver Bullet Pro, Foilmaster

Postby Cheryldec » July 12th, 2014, 10:10 am

Thanks Gigi! I am concerned about the expense, so I will try Crafters Companion. I read everything I could on chipboard, so I will be prepared to test cut. One question, though, can you set up a test cut (using the machine function) to multi cut? In other words, can you set up a test cut with specific settings?
Cheryldec

Postby Gigi » July 12th, 2014, 7:27 pm