is my mat too sticky?

is my mat too sticky?

Postby neiko » February 23rd, 2014, 1:49 am

Hi, newbie here! I just tested my Silver bullet. The cut is great but when it is done, I cant really peel my paper off the mat, I tried not to press my paper on the mat too hard when i sent it to print. Did I do something wrong? I tried printing it in copied paper and cardstock. Both have the same result. Help please! :(
neiko

Cutter: prospective buyer

Re: is my mat too sticky?

Postby Retta » February 23rd, 2014, 3:36 am

You may want to try a soft cloth that does not leave fuzzies. Touch it all over the mat till the stick is toned down. I've done that and actually extended the life of the mat. Hope that helps.
Retta

Cutter: 13" Cat CS4/Inkscape signcut

Postby Elizabeth » February 23rd, 2014, 8:32 am

You can also "unsticky" your mat bit by gently pressing your hands all over it. I did this with my new mats to reduce the stickiness a bit, and it worked great. I am amazed at how long the Silver Bullet mats retain their stickiness. I have been cutting like crazy for the past three weeks, and haven't even needed to use my brayer yet, except for chipboard, which stuck without the need for tape!

The "too sticky problem" disappeared with just a few cuts.
Life moves pretty fast. If you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.
http://shrinkingmimsy.blogspot.com/[/url]

Totally addicted to cutting with my new 24 inch Silver Bullet!
Elizabeth

Cutter: 24" Silver Bullet

Postby Gigi » February 23rd, 2014, 10:36 am

And a different thing that will help as I like that it's sticky :), involves how you remove the paper or cardstock. If you try to just pull it off, it can be difficult. If you use a little metal spatula (like the one from Cricut) or a palette knife, slide that under the edges of your paper and it will easily release. Especially when you have a detailed cut, that is a much easier way to get it to release from the mat.
Silver Bullet Admin/Tech Support