Importing PNG files

Importing PNG files

Postby Rusty_Stumps » July 16th, 2019, 5:38 pm

I have need for fairly fine cutting and have done most of my work in the past with AutoSketch. The only file type I can import into Sure Cuts A Lot are PNG files.
I brought one in and everything appears there but it looks different than what I've seen so far in the tutorials. Yes, first time trying to do a job on the Silver Bullet. I have been using a Epilog Laser for the past 17 years but sold it off.
I tried a WYIWYG print using the pen. My file was in the paper was in the upper left hand corner as was the drawing on the mat in Sure Cuts a Lot. When it ran a vertical line was drawn up the paper and past it edge. There were no lines in the drawing that way.
My question is to anyone that might also be using PNG imported files to cut with and what have you done to get them to work?
Thanks,
Walt
Rusty_Stumps

Cutter: none

Re: Importing PNG files

Postby Gigi » July 16th, 2019, 8:56 pm

Hi Walt -

You haven't given a lot of info to go on, but let me ask you a few questions. I have a lot of them! :)

1. Have you registered the software? It will cut lines through everything until it is registered.
2. You talk about importing a png file. But you don't say anything about tracing it. You don't actually have to import the image - you can just choose "Trace Image" and you will get a pop up window that then allows you to trace your image (either completely or just outline) and then save the image and cut file to the mat. Are you doing that?