mat

mat

Postby Janet1137 » February 27th, 2019, 12:56 pm

Hi there. This is my first time posting a question on this forum. I am relatively new to the Silver Bullet and it has definitely been a learning curve complete with frustration and tears. However, my question at this time is about the mat. I have the 12 x 24 mat and I think it is slightly warped causing my blade to cut where it should not cut. So I have ordered a new mat. My question is this … how can I help prevent my new mat from warping? and is there a trick to getting it completely flat once it has warped? I have stored it flat and have started putting heavy boxes on it between use in a attempt to help flatten it out. It does the trick but after a half dozen or so cuts it is beginning to curl up again. Any help you all can provide will be greatly appreciated.
Janet1137

Cutter: SBP 24

Re: mat

Postby Gigi » February 27th, 2019, 2:48 pm

Hi Janet -

First of all , welcome. What you are experiencing is not unique to you and you can search the forum for a ton of "fixes" and Ideas for flattening a mat. I have been cutting with the Silver Bullet and don't have warped mats anymore - so there is a "cure" so to speak. When you cut, you want to be sure that your pinch wheels are not running in the same place all of the time because that will create little valleys in your mat and eventually warp it. You can also rotate your mat and that will also help keep your mat flat. The main thing is just don't cut in the same place all of the time. And since you have a larger machine, it is even easier for you to move your mat to keep it flat and maximize its lifespan! Your mat should not be so warped that your blade is cutting where it shouldn't. Be sure your material is well brayered onto the mat as well.