Questions about SCAL 4 and Illustrator files

Questions about SCAL 4 and Illustrator files

Postby bkyap1305 » July 24th, 2015, 1:41 am

Hi all,
I'm new to my SB13 + SCAL4.0.
Sadly, my cuts aren't coming out as expected.

I'm on Windows 8, running Illustrator CS6.
I also installed the SCAL4 script for Illustrator.
The blade settings are all set according to requirements.

Here are the issues I'm facing.
Any help is much appreciated!

1) When I try to export my customer's designs into SCAL4, I see a whole lot of PNG files before the SVG file is generated.
Certain designs do appear in SCAL4.
Certain designs don't.

2) When I try to export simple text that are outlined from Illustrator to SCAL4, certain paths go haywire, e.g. the lower-cap "e".

3) I also tried designing directly in SCAL4, designs + cut lines.
I will do a print+cut.
I will also calibrate the laser before aligning the three corners.
Yet, the cuts are shifted 2mm toward the rear of the SB13.

I hope someone is able to help!
Much thanks in advance!
bkyap1305

Cutter: Silver Bullet Pro

Re: Sure Cuts Alot 4

Postby MeFlick » July 24th, 2015, 7:37 am

bkyap1305 - Welcome to the SB and the Forum. You have posted your new inquiry onto the back of a fairly old thread that I think is not necessarily "on topic" for your issue(s). (It is more than 7 months old now and the topic was not problems cutting with SCAL 4 via the Illustrator script.) This is not an uncommon occurrence for newbies to the forum, but sometimes inquires get "lost" when that occurs.

I would suggest that you start a new thread with your concerns/issues and someone can probably be of more help. In your title, be sure to note that you are trying to work with SCAL 4 and the Illustrator script for cutting and having issues. I cannot be of specific help because I don't use SCAL or the Illustrator script for cutting.
Go Vols!
MeFlick

Cutter: 18"Silver Bullet & More

Re: Questions about SCAL 4 and Illustrator files