Virtual Mat vs. Actual Mat

Virtual Mat vs. Actual Mat

Postby MagsB » April 20th, 2014, 10:11 pm

I am using SCAL 3 and just got my Silver Bullet. I previously used a Cricut machine, so I am not experienced with cutting software with this many options. Is there some way that I can change the orientation of the measurement marking on the virtual mat to match the layout of the Silver Bullet machine? It is making me crazy when cutting sample pieces to have to count off the markings.
Thanks,
Mags the Newbie.

PS. Is there a simple eraser function to remove unwanted parts of a traced image? Sometimes the nodes are difficult to select and remove without distorting the shape of the object.
Mags Bonham
Really Unique Creations
www.MagsBonham.com
MagsB

Cutter: 18" Silver Bullet

Re: Virtual Mat vs. Actual Mat

Postby Gigi » April 20th, 2014, 10:39 pm

In the SCAL options across the top, open "Cutter" and in the drop down menu you will see Mat Orientation and Mat Size. Click on Mat Size and you can click on one of the ones listed or you can click on custom mat and make it whatever size you want. Is that what you mean?

I rarely use the same size mat as what I am cutting on so not sure why you are cutting off markings. Are you cutting WYSIWYG rather than origin? If you cut origin, you can just put your blade in the lower right of your paper piece and it will cut your shape there no matter where it is on the mat.
Hope that helps.

I don't do a lot of manual tracing so will let someone who does answer that - tend to just let the software do the tracing :)
Silver Bullet Admin/Tech Support

Happily using an 24" Silver Bullet Platinum

Gigi
Gigi

Cutter: 18" Silver Bullet Pro, Foilmaster

Postby Elizabeth » April 21st, 2014, 12:54 pm

Rather than node editing, I often place an additional shape on my mat and use the Boolean join functions (in the path drop down menu, for example, path-intersection, or path- exclusion) to "erase" parts of shapes.