NEW NEED HELP WITH FONT

NEW NEED HELP WITH FONT

Postby rlemus30 » January 1st, 2014, 9:39 pm

Hello I am very very new to the cutting world and using SCAL 3. I am trying to use my engraving tool for the very first time and the font won't fill, it only shows the outline. I want to engrave the entire letter not just the outline of the letter. I looked on the silver bullet learning center and in their example when they show the font it is filled. I couldn't find any help on SCAL. Also on the engraving tutorial on the silver bullet learning center it says "It is also important to note that when engraving, you should set the SCAL cutting type drop down box to Pen instead of Blade" I have no idea how to do this in SCAL3. I am so lost....Please help!!! :o
rlemus30

Cutter: 13" Silver Bullet

Re: NEW NEED HELP WITH FONT

Postby LisaH » January 2nd, 2014, 4:55 pm

To fill the letter you have to use the Eggbot extension with Inkscape or something such as a postscript fill in Corel Draw. I have no idea about AI, since I don't have that software.
Capture.PNG

Capture2.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
LisaH

Cutter: 24" SB Pro

Postby LisaH » January 3rd, 2014, 7:15 pm

rlemus30 here is a topic with information about engraving and a link to another topic telling how viewtopic.php?f=44&t=4906
LisaH

Postby pigtailpat » January 4th, 2014, 8:31 am

Personally, to engrave letters, I would skip the hassle of a fill, and use a single line font that does not need to be filled. I have engraved with the cat on acrylic, while the end result is beautiful, it takes a long time. I engrave only once in a blue moon, and it is usually a very special project or occasion. I love the flexibility to be able to use it every now and then, but it isn't an everyday thing for me - due to time. I just don't have enough time.

Pat
New owner of an 18" cougar and the gazelle...still a newbie at the cougar and will soon explore it............
pigtailpat