need new machine advice

need new machine advice

Postby texcycle » March 30th, 2013, 6:15 pm

Hello, this is my first time on this forum.
I am interested in a new cutting machine. I have a Cricut Expression and MTC. I can not upgrade the software due to the lawsuit so it looks like I need a new machine.

I will be cutting primarily fabric and stencils, less important to me but will also use for paper, cardstock, card/chip board, vinyl. I know that some machines cut leather, emboss, etc, which I would most likely do if I had that capability. It is not essential to my purchase tho. I want to be able to use my own designs to cut, so the software is an important piece to the puzzle. I have a MAC but can run the software on a PC if needed.

I have read a lot of posts on various forums. I was going to switch to a Cameo, but now not so sure that is my best option after reading comments. I also read a thread on this forum that was a few years old and wondered how everyone felt about their machines now and also thoughts regarding some of the newer ones that have come out since. You all gave wonderful feedback and food-for-thought a few years ago, so I am hoping that someone will chime in with some more current info that can help me make a good choice. Thank you in advance.
texcycle

Cutter: prospective buyer

Re: need new machine advice

Postby kim » March 30th, 2013, 10:03 pm

First of all, welcome to the forum!!!

The Silver Bullet and the Cougar will both handle the things you are wanting in a new machine. The first thing that you would have to understand coming from a Cricut is the learning curve in ANY of the higher end machines are steeper but well worth the extra time in learning how to use them. Some can learn in a few minutes and others of us take a little longer.